logo Ichemc CCS

CCS Best Gavel Speaker 2020

Posted on

“CCS Best Gavel Speaker 2020”, the very first virtual speech competition hosted by the Gavel Club of CCS, was held on the 19th of December 2020 from 8.30 a.m onwards via Zoom. Staying true to the saying “Gavel never stops”, a dedicated team of Gaveliers worked very hard to get the contest to seamlessly happen virtually with no hindrance of any sort.

As an affiliate of Toastmasters International, the Gavel Club of CCS strives to earnestly guide our members not only to excel in eloquent speech, but also to harness their potential in being the leaders of tomorrow.

The Competition consisted of two avenues; Prepared Speech and Speech Evaluation. The contest was a massive success with many eloquent speeches being delivered by the competitors. The Competition was judged by a team of 10 judges from Toastmasters International clubs around Colombo. The Chief Judge for the competition was TM Lakalya De Silva, an alumnus of the College of Chemical Sciences.

The winners of the competition are as follows;

Prepared Speech Contest

Winner – Gav. Uthsara Malaweera Arachchi

1st Runner-up – Gav. Deepadul Perera

2nd Runner-up – Gav. Amaya Sooriyaarachchi

Speech Evaluation Contest

Winner – Gav. Senan Alwis

1st Runner-up – Gav. Isiwara Ratnayake

2nd Runner-up – Gav. Uthsara Malaweera Arachchi

 We would like to congratulate the winners and participants for doing an outstanding job at the competition.