logo Ichemc CCS

Institute of Chemistry Ceylon Commemorates the 1st Death Anniversary of Emeritus Professor J.N.O. Fernando

Posted on

Institute of Chemistry Ceylon Commemorates the 1st Death Anniversary

 of Emeritus Professor J.N.O. Fernando

March 2nd 2016 marked the first death anniversary of Prof. J.N. Oleap Fernando. The Institute of Chemistry Ceylon launched several programmes for the commemoration of Emeritus Professor JNO Fernando’s death anniversary. On 1st March 2016 Dhamma Sermon programme was conducted by Ven. Prof. Induragare Dhammarathana Thero, Senior Professor, Department of Sanskrit, University of Kelaniya, at the roof top of Adamantane House which was attended by some of the members of IChemC and staff and the students of the College of Chemical Sciences.
On the 2nd March an alms giving was held by the staff and students of the Institute and the College of Chemical Sciences for the maha sangha at Sri Gnanawasa Thripitaka Vidyayathanaya Temple at Rajagiriya.

The Institute of Chemistry Ceylon (ICHEMC) together with College of Chemical Sciences (CCS) launched the J.N. Oleap Fernando memorial Scholarship Fund at a ceremony held at Adamantane House, Rajagiriya on the same day. The fund is being raised with donations from past students, friends and well-wishers from all walks of life including the chemical industry and other organizations. The scholarship fund is expected to grow further with more contributions coming from the wide circle of his colleagues, graduate chemists etc both locally and overseas. The scholarship/s will be made available to deserving students selected on the basis of a criteria determined by the Council, ICHEMC.

The launching ceremony commenced with a Prayer Service by the students of CCS. The Commemoration Oration was delivered by Prof Tuley de Silva, Past President of ICHEMC, Chancellor of the University of Wayamba and former UNIDO Expert Technical Advisor. Welcome address was delivered by Mr. K.R.Dayananda, President of the Institute followed by the addresses by Prof. Samitha Deraniyagala, Rector and Mr. MRM Haniffa, the Dean CCS, Dr. Infas Mohamed, President of the Alumni Association, and Mr. Thilina Gamagedara, President of the Students Council will also addressed the audience.