logo Ichemc CCS

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Chemistry Olympiad Sri Lanka- 2018

June 12, 2018 @ 9:00 am - 12:30 pm

Announcement (June 4, 2018)

Winners 2018

Winners were selected based on the results of theory and practical examinations as stated below.

1 Pavindu Udeesha Jayasekera Richmond College Gold
2 Anuki Chamathka Pasqual Visaka Vidyalaya, Colombo Silver
3  Sanjana Gimhani Kapukotuwa Maliyadewa Girls School Bronz
4 Sugath Ravindu Sanwara Ananda College, Col 10 Bronz
5 Thinupa Anjana Wijetunga Richmond College Bronz
6 Nishala Kulathunga Bandara R/E Ehaliyagoda National School Merit Awards
7 Shakindi Vihangana Sujatha Vidyalaya Merit Awards
8 Uvindu Praveen Sumanasekara Badulla Madya Maha Vidyalaya Merit Awards
9 Sachintha Tashen Paranga Narangoda Richmond College Merit Awards
10 Sivathasan Tharsikan Jaffna Hindu College Merit Awards
11 Arulanantham Abbinanthan Jaffna Hindu College Merit Awards


Winners of the COSL competition will receive medals and prizes at the annual sessions of the IChemC scheduled to be held on the 12th June at the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute.


Name School
Sajini Nadara Boyagoda Girl’s High School, Kandy
Sanjana Gimhani Kapukotuwa Maliyadewa Girls School, Kurunegala
Sivathasan Tharsikan Jaffna Hindu College, Jaffna
Ashika Kavindi Rathnayake Girl’s High School, Kandy
Nilushi Navodya Dhanapola Mahamaya Girl’s College, Kandy
Thinupa Anjana Wijetunga Richmond College, Galle
Uvindu Praveen Sumanasekara Badulla Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Badulla
Anisha Jude Joachimson Chundikulai Girls’ College, Jaffna
Jeyanandaraja Kirushikan Jaffna Hindu College, Jaffna
Arulananthan Abbinanthan Jaffna Hindu College, Jaffna
Charuka Nishala Kulathunga Bandara R/E Ehaliyagoda National School, Ehaliyagoda
Pamudi Mahinsa Jayalathge Sanghamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Galle
Manthi Nisansa Weerathunga Southlands College, Galle
Sachintha Tashen Paranga Narangoda Richmond College, Galle
Sithum Minthaka Ananda College, Col 10
Pavindu Udeesha Jayasekara Richmond College
Varnakulendran Anathiriyan Sri-Koneswara Hindu College, Trinco
Sugath Ravindu Sanwara Ananda College, Col 10
Samith Kavishka Karunathilake Badulla Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Badulla
Dewni Liyanage Southlands College, Galle
Anuki Chamathka Pasqual Visaka Vidyalaya, Colombo 5
Ishani Udeshiaka Kumari Girl’s High School, Kandy
Thayaparan Nisan Jaffna Hindu College, Jaffna
Janith Mayara Bandara Dissanayake Trinity College, Kandy
Kavin Tharusha Pathirage D S Senanayake College, Col 7
Shakindi Vihangana Sujatha Vidyalaya, Matara  




Announcement (March 14, 2018)

Following Exam Centers have been changed.
Previous Location New Location
University of Colombo Sirimavo Bandaranayake Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo 07
Univesrity of Kelaniya Mahamaya Balika Kiribathgoda
University of Sri Jayawardhanapura Samudradevi Balika Vidyalaya, Nugegoda
Univeristy of Ruhuna Sujatha Balika Vidyalaya, Mathara


Announcement (March 13, 2018)

Chemistry Olympiad  and the Interschool Chemistry Quiz Preliminary Exams have been rescheduled to be held on Sunday 18th March 2018 at 9.30 am

Venues will be notified soon. 

Announcement (March 7,  2018)

Due to the present situation in some districts and the non-academic strick in Universities, Chemistry Olympiad Preliminary Exam has been postponed by one week.


Guidelines for Candidates – Click Here

Please note that the admission cards for the exam were sent to schools. If you didn’t get it yet please contact us.  011 4015230,   011 2861653,    011 2861231

Application closing date extended till February 15, 2018 

Download the Application Form 

Email to: cosl@ichemc.edu.lk

Preliminary round of the proposed Chemistry Olympiad – Sri Lanka – 2018  and

All Island Interschool Chemistry Quiz – 2017/2018

This is to inform you that the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon (IChemC) has organized the Chemistry Olympiad Sri Lanka and All Island Interschool Chemistry Quiz competitions with the intention of increasing student interest in Chemistry and facilitating the learning of fundamental concepts of Chemistry. We are pleased to invite a team of students from your school to participate in these competitions.

The preliminary selection round for both competitions will be held on 11th March 2018 at 10.00 am at ten university premises listed overleaf.  Maximum of 8 students of Grade 12 (Sit for A/Ls in 2019 for the first time) Bio Science and Physical Science sections can participate from each school.

The duration of the examination will be two hours and will be conducted in all three languages, English / Sinhalese / Tamil. The question paper will consist of 50 multiple choice questions and around 10 structured type questions which covers the first 5 units of the Advanced Level Chemistry syllabus, along with questions on basic organic chemistry. During this competition general knowledge in Chemistry will also be tested. A model paper will be displayed in our website (www.ichemc.edu.lk) and also on the COSL FB page in due course.

Depending on the performances of the preliminary examination, the students will be invited to take part in the final round of the Chemistry Olympiad competition and also at the Interschool Chemistry Quiz Competition. A theory and practical workshop will be conducted at the IChemC for the finalists of the Chemistry Olympiad.

A copy of the letter of authority issued by the Secretary, Ministry of Education giving permission for the conduct of this competition is attached herewith.

Please reply on the attached form before 8th February 2018.  Kindly pass this form and information to the relevant teacher/s to do the needful. For any further clarifications please communicate with Ms Manisha Goonathilaka (Phone number 0112861231 email: cosl@ichemc.edu.lk).

Thanks & Regards,


Dr. Chinthaka Ratnaweera

Chairperson / Chemistry Olympiad Sri Lanka

Download  Letter Sinhala 

Test Centers

  1. Faculty of Science, University of Colombo, Colombo
  2. Faculty of Science, University of Sri Jayawardhanapura, Nugegoda
  3. Faculty of Science, University of Peradeniya, Peradeniya
  4. Faculty of Science, University of Ruhuna, Mathara
  5. Faculty of Applied Sciences, Uva-Wellassa University, Baddulla
  6. Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Rajarata, Mihinthalaya
  7. Faculty of Science, University of Jaffna, Jaffna
  8. Faculty of Applied Sciences, South Eastern University, Samanthurai
  9. Wayaba University of Sri Lanaka, Makadura Premises
  10. Faculty of Science, University of Kelaniya, Kelaniya

Download Model Papers 





For latest Updates please visit COSL Official FB page 


June 12, 2018
9:00 am - 12:30 pm
Event Category: